News Feeds (RSS) 180223080709359 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/confusion-missing-nigerian-girls-parents-demand-answers-180223080709359.html Confusion over missing Nigerian girls, parents demand answers Parents express grief and disappointment after the government retracts a statement that some girls were rescued. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 13:16:31 Z 2018-02-23 13:16 +00:00 2018-02-23 14:16 +01:00 180216072056742 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/florida-school-shooting-nikolas-cruz-180216072056742.html Florida school shooting: Who is Nikolas Cruz? Police say the 19-year-old confessed to killing 17 people in one of the deadliest school shootings in US history. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 12:57:23 Z 2018-02-23 12:57 +00:00 2018-02-23 13:57 +01:00 180223101710372 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/takes-steps-resume-plutonium-pit-production-nukes-180223101710372.html US takes steps to resume plutonium pit production for nukes Call to increase plutonium storage at New Mexico facility draws criticism from nuclear watchdogs. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 12:54:14 Z 2018-02-23 12:54 +00:00 2018-02-23 13:54 +01:00 180223125118352 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/african-countries-ban-secondhand-clothes-imports-180223125118352.html African countries ban secondhand clothes imports African countries are trying to support their domestic textile industries, but pressure from the US and a flood of cheap clothing from China are making it difficult. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 12:51:18 Z 2018-02-23 12:51 +00:00 2018-02-23 13:51 +01:00 180223124026569 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/g5-sahel-military-force-money-180223124026569.html G5 Sahel military force still needs money Only half of the projected $500m that the G5 Sahel force needs has been raised, and African leaders are pushing the international community for more funding. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 12:40:26 Z 2018-02-23 12:40 +00:00 2018-02-23 13:40 +01:00 180223090955439 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/turkey-slams-dutch-vote-armenian-genocide-180223090955439.html Turkey slams Dutch 'Armenian genocide' vote Ankara dismisses Dutch parliament's overwhelming majority vote to recognise First World War killings as genocide. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 11:57:04 Z 2018-02-23 11:57 +00:00 2018-02-23 12:57 +01:00 180223115158783 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/un-russia-stalling-resolution-eastern-ghouta-180223115158783.html UN: Is Russia stalling a resolution on Eastern Ghouta? The member states of the UN Security Council have gathered to discuss calling for an end to the violence in Eastern Ghouta, but people there are still dying, and any action is a long way away. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 11:51:58 Z 2018-02-23 11:51 +00:00 2018-02-23 12:51 +01:00 180223095412160 http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/india-pnb-scandal-poses-difficult-questions-pm-modi-180223095412160.html India: PNB scandal poses difficult questions for PM Modi India's second-largest state-run bank, PNB, has been defrauded of $1.8bn, and experts fear it may spread to other banks. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 11:32:43 Z 2018-02-23 11:32 +00:00 2018-02-23 12:32 +01:00 180215061404114 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/florida-high-school-shooting-180215061404114.html Florida high school shooting: What we know so far At least 17 people are dead after a gunman opened fire on a local high school in southeastern Florida. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 10:55:39 Z 2018-02-23 10:55 +00:00 2018-02-23 11:55 +01:00 180222202934564 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/french-court-orders-tariq-ramadan-stay-prison-180222202934564.html French court orders Tariq Ramadan to stay in prison A Paris court has ordered the continued detention of Islamic scholar Tariq Ramadan, who faces preliminary rape charges. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 09:50:27 Z 2018-02-23 09:50 +00:00 2018-02-23 10:50 +01:00 180221135251018 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/ethiopia-prime-minister-180221135251018.html Who will be Ethiopia's next prime minister? Will the appointment of a new Ethiopian prime minister only act to save the ruling party, or usher in deeper reform? Fri, 23 Feb 2018 08:46:42 Z 2018-02-23 08:46 +00:00 2018-02-23 09:46 +01:00 180223064550115 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/australia-deputy-pm-barnaby-joyce-quits-pressure-affair-180223064550115.html Australia Deputy PM Barnaby Joyce quits amid pressure over affair National Party chief's decision comes after PM Malcolm Turnbull announced ban on sex between ministers and staffers. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 08:43:40 Z 2018-02-23 08:43 +00:00 2018-02-23 09:43 +01:00 180202135428686 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/begging-bread-greek-family-austerity-180202135428686.html Begging for bread: A Greek family under austerity Like 20 percent of Greeks, Iliodoros and Ioanna Filios cannot find work in the country's austerity-ravaged economy. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 08:29:46 Z 2018-02-23 08:29 +00:00 2018-02-23 09:29 +01:00 171031123655241 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2017/10/trump-russia-probe-171031123655241.html Who has been charged in Mueller's Trump-Russia investigation? We break down Special Counsel Robert Mueller's investigation into alleged Russian meddling in the 2016 elections. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 08:15:40 Z 2018-02-23 08:15 +00:00 2018-02-23 09:15 +01:00 180222211942824 http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/inpictures/week-pictures-syria-war-winter-olympics-180222211942824.html Week in pictures: From Syria's war to the Winter Olympics A photo roundup of some of last week's events, including US protests against gun violence and Indonesia volcano eruption Fri, 23 Feb 2018 08:02:41 Z 2018-02-23 08:02 +00:00 2018-02-23 09:02 +01:00 180222145312233 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/die-400-killed-eastern-ghouta-180222145312233.html 'Survive or die together': More than 400 killed in Eastern Ghouta Syrian government aerial offensive on rebel-held enclave that began on Sunday has killed at least 403 people. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 06:59:06 Z 2018-02-23 06:59 +00:00 2018-02-23 07:59 +01:00 170605105550769 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2017/06/qatar-diplomatic-crisis-latest-updates-170605105550769.html Qatar-Gulf crisis: All the latest updates Here are all the latest updates to the Qatar-Gulf crisis, now in its ninth month. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 06:32:42 Z 2018-02-23 06:32 +00:00 2018-02-23 07:32 +01:00 180221101741300 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/italy-election-180221101741300.html Six things you need to know about Italy's election Set for March 4, the elections are billed as a test for right-wing populism and increasing anxiety over migration. Fri, 23 Feb 2018 06:02:03 Z 2018-02-23 06:02 +00:00 2018-02-23 07:02 +01:00 180222130451216 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/canadians-call-return-relative-held-ethiopia-180222130451216.html Canadians call for return of relative held in Ethiopia Family and rights group demand release of a Canadian citizen imprisoned in Ethiopia for alleged 'terrorist crimes'. Thu, 22 Feb 2018 21:04:06 Z 2018-02-22 21:04 +00:00 2018-02-22 22:04 +01:00 180222192632682 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/unicef-deputy-resigns-damaging-allegations-180222192632682.html UNICEF deputy resigns after 'damaging' allegations UN children's agency deputy steps down saying past allegations threaten to 'damage' UNICEF and entire aid industry. Thu, 22 Feb 2018 20:39:29 Z 2018-02-22 20:39 +00:00 2018-02-22 21:39 +01:00 180222063256906 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/missing-schoolgirls-rescued-nigeria-yobe-180222063256906.html Dozens of Nigerian schoolgirls still unaccounted for after attack Government retracts earlier statement that some of the girls had been rescued after Boko Haram attacked their school. Thu, 22 Feb 2018 20:34:01 Z 2018-02-22 20:34 +00:00 2018-02-22 21:34 +01:00 180222174224374 http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/insidestory/2018/02/rise-global-rights-violations-180222174224374.html What is behind the rise in global rights violations? Amnesty International releases its annual report looking at the state of human rights around the world. Thu, 22 Feb 2018 19:35:37 Z 2018-02-22 19:35 +00:00 2018-02-22 20:35 +01:00 180222125809339 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/iran-warns-nuclear-crisis-jcpoa-deal-scrapped-180222125809339.html Iran warns of 'nuclear crisis' if JCPOA deal is scrapped Deputy Foreign Minister Abbas Araghchi derides 'atmosphere of uncertainty' created by US President Donald Trump. Thu, 22 Feb 2018 19:15:10 Z 2018-02-22 19:15 +00:00 2018-02-22 20:15 +01:00 180222151525919 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/india-member-sikh-extremist-group-invited-trudeau-event-180222151525919.html India: Ex-member of Sikh 'terror' group invited to Trudeau event Canadian PM Trudeau says he rescinded invite to a former member of a Sikh 'terrorist' group as soon as it became known. Thu, 22 Feb 2018 18:56:17 Z 2018-02-22 18:56 +00:00 2018-02-22 19:56 +01:00 180221174518140 http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/world-leaders-abandoning-human-rights-amnesty-180221174518140.html World leaders abandoning human rights: Amnesty Regressive policies and hateful rhetoric by Trump, Putin and Xi undermining rights globally, Amnesty International says. Thu, 22 Feb 2018 17:42:59 Z 2018-02-22 17:42 +00:00 2018-02-22 18:42 +01:00