News Feeds (RSS) 180818173010461 https://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/insidestory/2018/08/pakistan-prime-minister-imran-khan-job-180818173010461.html Pakistan: Is Prime Minister Imran Khan up to the job? Numerous challenges await former cricketer, who was sworn in as Pakistan's new prime minister in the capital. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 21:11:17 Z 2018-08-18 21:11 +00:00 2018-08-18 23:11 +02:00 180818171021402 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/iran-mossadegh-negotiated-donald-trump-180818171021402.html Iran's Mossadegh 'would have negotiated with Donald Trump' Analysts say 1953 US-led coup against Iran's first elected leader altered path to democracy and damaged diplomatic ties. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 21:09:54 Z 2018-08-18 21:09 +00:00 2018-08-18 23:09 +02:00 180818144907727 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/putin-merkel-discuss-nord-stream-2-syrian-reconstruction-180818144907727.html Putin and Merkel discuss Nord Stream 2, Syrian reconstruction The Russian and German leaders meet for bilateral talks outside of Berlin. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 20:18:45 Z 2018-08-18 20:18 +00:00 2018-08-18 22:18 +02:00 180818152943556 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/unfold-syria-idlib-bloodbath-180818152943556.html What may unfold in Syria's Idlib and why is a 'bloodbath' likely? Idlib is the Syrian government's next target, experts say, but other scenarios may unfold with regional players at hand. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 20:16:53 Z 2018-08-18 20:16 +00:00 2018-08-18 22:16 +02:00 180818093156348 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/chief-kofi-annan-dies-180818093156348.html Former UN chief Kofi Annan dies at 80 Annan served as UN secretary-general from 1997 to 2006 and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2001. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 19:41:18 Z 2018-08-18 19:41 +00:00 2018-08-18 21:41 +02:00 180818111328019 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/cristiano-ronaldo-set-serie-debut-juventus-180818111328019.html Cristiano Ronaldo makes winning Serie A debut for Juventus Portugal captain remains goalless, as reigning Italian league champions clinch dramatic 3-2 opening win against Chievo. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 19:28:50 Z 2018-08-18 19:28 +00:00 2018-08-18 21:28 +02:00 180818164021875 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/unknown-migrants-buried-southern-spain-180818164021875.html The 'unknown migrants' buried in southern Spain Along the Mediterranean coast, some Spanish locals try to provide respect and care for the bodies of unidentified migrants who did not survive the perilous crossing. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 16:40:21 Z 2018-08-18 16:40 +00:00 2018-08-18 18:40 +02:00 180812140132177 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/setting-rohingya-camp-elects-women-leaders-180812140132177.html The woman leading the way for Rohingya at a Bangladesh camp The first local election at a Rohingya refugee camp in Bangladesh ended with half of chosen representatives being women. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 16:35:46 Z 2018-08-18 16:35 +00:00 2018-08-18 18:35 +02:00 180818144043935 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/egypt-sisi-signs-law-tightening-government-control-online-180818144043935.html Egypt's Sisi signs new law tightening government control online Law imposes hefty fines, up to five years in prison for those who administer websites deemed to harm national interests. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 16:29:22 Z 2018-08-18 16:29 +00:00 2018-08-18 18:29 +02:00 180818105310267 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/world-leaders-reacts-kofi-annan-death-180818105310267.html World leaders react to Kofi Annan's death Former UN secretary-general died at a hospital in the Swiss city of Bern after a short illness. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 16:05:09 Z 2018-08-18 16:05 +00:00 2018-08-18 18:05 +02:00 180818151406458 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/abandoned-tobacco-factory-turn-arts-center-iraq-180818151406458.html Abandoned tobacco factory to turn into an arts center in Iraq Sulayminyah has, since its founding 200 years ago, been dedicated to the arts and now the Kurdistan Regional Government has dedicated six million dollars to create a cultural arts centre in the city. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 15:14:06 Z 2018-08-18 15:14 +00:00 2018-08-18 17:14 +02:00 180818144143982 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/mexico-hold-referendum-construction-airport-180818144143982.html Mexico to hold referendum on construction of new airport Protecting Mexico City's new airport from sinking, flooding and earthquakes is proving controversial as mining the rock required is creating sinkholes and threatening nearby towns. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 14:41:43 Z 2018-08-18 14:41 +00:00 2018-08-18 16:41 +02:00 180818143609579 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/women-activists-nepal-call-equality-citizenship-bill-180818143609579.html Female activists in Nepal call for equality on citizenship bill The proposed bill would could women to have a Nepalese husband to pass on their citizenship to their children. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 14:36:09 Z 2018-08-18 14:36 +00:00 2018-08-18 16:36 +02:00 180818142509961 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/nicaraguas-national-tourism-decline-political-unrest-180818142509961.html Nicaragua's national tourism in decline amid political unrest Workers in Nicaragua's tourism industry are hoping to hang on until the next busy season, but if the country has not stabilised by then, migration may become their only option. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 14:25:09 Z 2018-08-18 14:25 +00:00 2018-08-18 16:25 +02:00 180818092405195 https://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/countingthecost/2018/08/turkey-financial-tremors-spreading-globe-180818092405195.html Are Turkey's financial tremors spreading across the globe? The escalating US-Turkey spat resulted in the collapse of the Turkish Lira this week. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 14:07:04 Z 2018-08-18 14:07 +00:00 2018-08-18 16:07 +02:00 180814173106003 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/imran-khan-pakistan-diaspora-dilemma-180814173106003.html Imran Khan, 'new Pakistan' and the diaspora dilemma Expatriates pin high hopes on the new PM, as his government urges overseas nationals to invest in the country. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 13:58:17 Z 2018-08-18 13:58 +00:00 2018-08-18 15:58 +02:00 180724223110697 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/pakistan-elections-imran-khan-180724223110697.html Pakistan: Who is Imran Khan? From international cricket star to Pakistan’s prime minister. A look at the life and political rise of Imran Khan. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 13:21:23 Z 2018-08-18 13:21 +00:00 2018-08-18 15:21 +02:00 180818125856933 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/india-thousands-pay-tribute-pm-atal-bihari-vajpayee-180818125856933.html India: Thousands pay tribute to former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee Vajpayee has died aged 93 following a prolonged illness, which he was being treated for at capital Delhi's AIIMS hospital. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 12:58:56 Z 2018-08-18 12:58 +00:00 2018-08-18 14:58 +02:00 180816071438268 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/yemeni-refugee-escaping-war-life-south-korea-jeju-180816071438268.html Yemeni refugee on escaping war and life on South Korea's Jeju Yemeni asylum seeker in South Korea talks fleeing the war as well as facing Islamophobia and discrimination. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 11:58:07 Z 2018-08-18 11:58 +00:00 2018-08-18 13:58 +02:00 180817133759141 https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/torpedoing-africa-complaining-migration-180817133759141.html Torpedoing Africa, and then complaining about 'migration' European countries are still shaping the lives of millions of Africans, determining both their present and future. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 10:58:27 Z 2018-08-18 10:58 +00:00 2018-08-18 12:58 +02:00 180818092916194 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/italy-bridge-collapse-bodies-rubble-180818092916194.html Italy bridge collapse: Three more bodies found under the rubble Local media reports death toll in incident rises to 41 as state funeral held for 18 victims. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 10:56:19 Z 2018-08-18 10:56 +00:00 2018-08-18 12:56 +02:00 180818085941804 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/flooding-leaves-parts-liberia-capital-water-180818085941804.html Flooding leaves parts of Liberia's capital under water Commuters wade through floodwater in Monrovia and traffic jams witnessed due to unexpected torrential rain. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 10:21:30 Z 2018-08-18 10:21 +00:00 2018-08-18 12:21 +02:00 180818055717361 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/kerala-floods-thousands-await-rescue-death-toll-crosses-200-180818055717361.html Kerala floods: Thousands await rescue as death toll crosses 200 More than 300,000 displaced since August 8 after record rains in southern Indian state cause flooding and landslides. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 10:11:57 Z 2018-08-18 10:11 +00:00 2018-08-18 12:11 +02:00 180818082236829 https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/08/qatar-accuses-saudi-arabia-blocking-access-hajj-180818082236829.html Qatar accuses Saudi Arabia of blocking access to Hajj Travel agents in Qatar say a link for residents to register for the pilgrimage was blocked by Riyadh. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 09:37:21 Z 2018-08-18 09:37 +00:00 2018-08-18 11:37 +02:00 180818082154830 https://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/listeningpost/2018/08/speaking-unspeakable-bangladesh-180818082154830.html Speaking the unspeakable in Bangladesh Protests in Dhaka are about more than road safety. Plus, how the late Tom Wolfe inspires journalists today. Sat, 18 Aug 2018 09:15:52 Z 2018-08-18 09:15 +00:00 2018-08-18 11:15 +02:00